WGA formed David Goodman, Chris Keyser negotiating committee

By | November 9, 2022

The Writers Guild of America has tapped former presidents David Goodman and Chris Kaiser to lead the guild’s negotiating committee, leading the fight in what could be a difficult deal with Hollywood’s major players in the middle of next year.

The WGA’s master contract, which covers most film and TV production, expires on May 1. Negotiations are expected to be tough at a time when there are several economic issues and concerns about working conditions for mid-level writers, TV and film sectors. In the increasingly chaotic transition to on-demand content on the Internet.

Goodman, best known for his work with Seth MacFarlane on “Family Guy” and “The Orville,” is honored by the WGA for his successful three-year campaign to get major talent agencies to accept packaging fees to help assemble TV series and movies. Goodman served as president of the WGA West from 2017 to 2021. Keyser, also a seasoned showrunner, led the WGA West from 2011 to 2015.

WGA West and WGA East join arms to jointly negotiate a mega three-year contract between Mississippi River unions that governs the production of the giant United States entertainment industry. David Young, executive director and lead negotiator for WGA West, serves as lead negotiator for unions with Motion Picture and Television Producers.

Here is the full list of committee members and officers:

  • David A. Goodman, Co-Chairman
  • Chris Keyser, Co-Chair
  • John August
  • Angelina Burnett
  • Kay Cannon
  • Jahlin Chang
  • Rob Chavis
  • Adam Conover
  • Travis Donnelly
  • Ashley Gable
  • Hallie Haglund
  • Eric Haywood
  • Eric Heiser
  • Greg Iwinsky
  • Luvh Rake
  • Erica Saleh
  • Daniel Sanchez-Weitzel
  • James Shamus
  • Tom Shulman.
  • Mike Schur
  • David Shore
  • David Simon
  • Patrick M. Verrone
  • Nicole York
  • Michael Winship, WGAE President, ex officio
  • Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, WGAE Film/TV/Streaming Vice President, Ex-Officio
  • Christopher Kyle, WGAE Secretary-Treasurer, ex officio
  • Meredith Stiehm, WGAW President, ex officio
  • Michelle Mulroney, WGAW Vice President, ex officio
  • Betty Thomas, WGAW Secretary-Treasurer, ex officio

More will come

Category: tv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *