Variety has won 22 national arts and entertainment journalism awards

By | December 5, 2022

Difference It won 22 national arts and entertainment journalism awards at a ceremony held Sunday night at Universal City. The 22 trophies at the event are the most by any publication.

Also earning top honors were Deputy Music Editor Jim Aswad as Online Journalist of the Year and Elizabeth Wagmeister and Clayton Davis, co-hosts of “Variety’s The Take,” as Anchor/Host of the Year.

From July 2021 to June 2022, the Los Angeles Press Club’s 15th annual awards for work and local publications were presented in the Grand Ballroom of the Universal Sheraton Hotel.

Scoring for the most wins — four each — were Aswad and senior music writer and chief music critic Chris Willman. Close behind was chief reporter Wagmeister, who scored three wins during the ceremony. Five employees earned two awards each: senior vice president Tim Gray, music executive Shirley Halperin, executive producer of international and senior writer Manori Ravindran, senior TV editor Brian Steinberg and editor Malina Saval.

Other first-place finishers included Chief Film Critic Peter DeBrugge, Senior Awards Editor Davis, Senior Entertainment and Media Writer Matt Donnelly, Senior International Film Editor Elsa Keslasy, Associate Features Editor Jenelle Reilly, Deputy Editor Pat Saperstein, Television Editor Michael Schneider, Social Media . Editor Katsi Stephan and International Correspondent KJ Yosman. Contributors Lena Taylor and Roy Truckin shared top honors.

Aswad also won Online Journalist of the Year for Music Criticism as well as Jack Harlow’s Hit Maker of the Year Cover Story for Music Personality Profile. He and Halperin Travis Scott shared a serious news award to see if the Astroworld festival could contribute to the number of deaths.

Willman won for the personality profile, a piece on the musicians Robert Plant and Alison Krauss reunion album forces again; Soft news/wisdom for an on-the-ground report on the opening of the new Bob Dylan Museum in Oklahoma; And a humorous write-up, a witty look at how Bruce Springsteen’s newly sold publication could be exploited for an advertising license.

Aswad and Willman shared their fourth win, teaming up with Halperin, Tailor and Trakin for a Clive Davis story in the Business Report celebrating the musical’s 90th anniversary.

In addition to sharing the top award for anchors/hosts, Wagmeister won for TV Commentary/Analysis on How Wendy Williams Changed Daytime Television. Her third award, for Celebrity News, shared with co-writers Donnelly and Slacy, questions why damaged celebrities like Woody Allen are celebrated in the high-profile venues of the Cannes Film Festival.

Last year’s print journalist of the year, Gray returned this year and won two awards: for diversity reporting, for a look back at Sidney Poitier’s legacy, and celebrity news, for Guillermo del Toro’s “Nightmare Alley” story.

Saval’s two awards were for her contribution to Jean-Marc Vallée and the Commentary/Analysis/TV Trophy for Obituary/Appreciation on the need for better screen representation of adolescent mental health.

Steinberg won a Soft News/TV Award for a special report on how David Chase’s Super Bowl car commercial inspired “The Sopranos” and pushed ad tech to the forefront of criticism/analysis/TV more than TV shows. .

Ravindran won two awards in the diversity category. One was a report for Diversity on the film industry about how stars call out the lack of representation in the UK film/TV business. The second prize for diversity in the TV/streaming industry went to a story about women of color quitting the BBC. Her co-writer Yosman shared.

Among other winners: Stefan won Best Journalism in Social Media for Telling or Improving a Story for her work expanding the reach of the Kardashian cover story. Riley from M. For an interview with Night Shymalan, he picked up the profile of the film/TV personality. And “Julia” won Saperstein’s TV/Film Industry Feature in 1,000 Words for Series Watch.

The judges were also awarded Difference An additional 49 second- and third-place awards, bringing the publication’s total night awards to 71.

difference’A large number of awards — and continued buzz from the staff table at the Hilton — were featured by comedian Alonzo Boden, who provides comic relief at most LA Press Club ceremonies. “They’ve been losing their minds over there,” Boden said. Difference Waiter. “I’ll make a table for that.”

Five previously announced special awards were given to distinguished guests at the ceremony. Byron Allen received the Impact Award, Ryan Seacrest received the Light Award, Marla Gibbs was honored with the Legend Award, director Jennifer Lee took home the Distinguished Storyteller Award for Film, and country star Tanya Tucker was the recipient of the Distinguished Storyteller Award (Music). ).

The LA Press Club hosts two awards each year, the SoCal Journalism Awards each year in June or July.

Category: tv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *