‘Never Go Away’ series greenlit by FX, Viola Prettejohn set to star

By | October 26, 2022

FX by Kazuo Ishiguro “Never Go,” a drama series inspired by the 2005 science fiction novel of the same name, has been greenlit.

The thriller series follows Tora (Viola Pretjohn), a rebellious teenage clone who escapes from a boarding school where she and her fellow clones hide from society. As she begins living undercover in the outside world, she unknowingly sets in motion events that spark a revolution and test the limits of what it means to be human.

Along with Pretjohn, the cast includes Tracey Ullman, Kelly MacDonald, Ayesha Hart, Spike Fern, Shaniqua Okwok, Gary Biddle, Kwame Odom, Susan Brown, Keira Chancey and Edward Holcroft.

This is the second screen adaptation of the book since the 2010 film from Searchlight Pictures starring Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightley and Andrew Garfield. The film was written by Alex Garland, directed by Mark Romanke and produced by Andrew Macdonald Alon & Reich.

The series is produced by DNA Productions, FX Productions and Searchlight Television. Melissa Iqbal wrote the pilot and serves as showrunner. She will executive produce alongside pilot director Mark Munden, Garland, McDonald, Rich and DNA Productions’ Maria Fleischer and Ishiguro. Carmel Cochran served as the casting director.

Pretjohn is best known for starring as Myrtle Haplish in HBO’s “The Nevers.” She is repped by Insight Management & Production and CAA.

Ullman (“Mrs. America,” “Into the Woods,” “Howard’s End”) is repped by Hamilton Hodel and CAA.

McDonald (“Operation Mincemeat,” “Line of Duty,” “Boardwalk Empire”) is repped by ICM Associates and an independent talent team.

Hart (“Desert Warrior,” “Mogul Mowley,” “Colette”) is repped by Curtis Brown & Goodman, Genow, Shenkman, Smelkinson & Christopher.

Fern (“The Wonderful Mr. Blueden”, “Sweet”, “Tell Me Everything”) is represented by Alexander Cook in Hamilton Hodel. Oakwalk (“Little Axe”, “Wolfe”, “It’s a Sin”) is represented by Tavistock Wood.

Beadle (“Little Axe”, “Wheel of Time”, “Around the World in 80 Days”) is represented by Lou Coulson Associates and Link Entertainment.

Odom (“Death in Paradise”) is repped by United Agents.

Brown (“It’s a Sin,” “Game of Thrones,” “The Iron Lady”) is repped by Hamilton Hodel.

Chance (“Come On,” “Wheel Of Time,” “The Cast 2”) is repped by Hero Talent Group.

Holcroft (“Kingsman,” “Wolf Hole,” “London Spy”) is repped by Independent Talent.

“Never Let Me Go is a modern science fiction classic that Melissa Iqbal and her creative team brilliantly bring to FX as a drama that explores contemporary and unsettling themes in the ethics of life and technology,” said Gina Balian, president of FX Entertainment. “We are honored to partner with Andrew and Alon at DNA Productions, Searchlight Television, Alex Garland, Mark Munden, Kazuo Ishiguro and the cast on this exciting new project.”

More ahead…

Category: tv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *